The Heirloom

I love you forever and I promise you that,
my future baby boy.

I’ll put my arms around you and slowly cradle forth and back.
Preparations done months before and sure there’s nothing you will lack.
Eyes fixed on you for quite some time, so sorry in advance.
Imagine a lifetime supply of happiness that fits perfectly in your hands.
Your eyes, still shut, Β just waiting to face the world and to belong.
You’ll cuddle your body around me gently to make sure nothing goes wrong.
I’ll stare at you, so endlessly with our bodies holding each other.
The second handsomest boy I’ve seen next to your own father.
Your hair’ll be a beautiful Sepia, the same color as your dad’s.
Your eyes will have a slightly darker shade than the ones I had.
And sweetie, your smile will make every single person want to look,
And a little curve will form on your lips when I read your favorite book.
Your tiny baby feet and hands smaller than a bar of soap,
To me and your dad, you are one amazing copious amount of hope.
Your fingernails and toenails, still shorter than half a pin
Still forced to grab a towel to wipe all that drool off your chin.
The next couple of weeks after, you’ll learn to open your eyes,
You’ll squint a little then shut them once more but you know I know that you try.
Your hand will grip my pinky tight and walking, you’ll finally master.
Your first words will be mom or dad and you’ll start getting wiser.
Soon, the jumpers in your closet will be thrown and then replaced.
And you finally belong and happily fit in with the world, successfully faced.
Soon, you will write letters to someone you haven’t met but means the world.
‘I love you forever and I promise you that, my future baby girl’.
14 comments
  1. Beautiful and heartwarming. I can’t believe you’re still only a teenager! You’ve got skills. πŸ˜€

  2. Janzen said:

    SHIVERS, MAX. SHIIII YOU’RE SOOO GOOD!

    • Awww thanks, Janz! πŸ˜€ But seriously . . . ARE YOU MAD? HAVE YOU READ YOUR OWN POEMS? They’re frigging beautiful!

  3. soumyav said:

    Beautifully woven! its so intricate and intense.. πŸ™‚ Thanks for visiting my blog and liking…

    • Welcome! πŸ˜€ Many thanks and glad you visited mine as well

  4. Max, this poem touches the heart in an amazing way! I am in awe of your site. This is my first visit, but it won’t be my last. Keep writing! BTW, thanks so much for visiting my blog.

Leave a Reply

