Right on Time

I’ll tell you where it all started, definitely not first day of class.

Both you and I had co-existed, face-to-face but always passed.

Every class, every orientation, I had picked the wrong chair.

We had picked seats so far, I barely noticed you were there.

 

I’ll tell you where it started, it began with being late.

It began with coincidences, not destiny or fate.

I ran into English 1, two big bags hung on each shoulder.

One more seat left in the room, I hurriedly make my way over.

 

I return a smile back to the boy who sits right next to me.

He’s talkative, good with words, makes opening up seem so easy.

You give me those butterflies of what people in novels feel.

Except, this is infinity times better cos what you’ve given me is real.

 

From someone I barely knew, you now take up most of my brain.

You make me so damn happy and it’s driving me insane.

To think- what are the actual chances of being able to meet,

The right boy at the right time, sitting on the right seat?

 

 

2 comments
  1. I loved this! Unlike so many poems, it is just so happy and written in such a free manner! Brilliant!

Leave a Reply

